It never ceases to amaze me just how sad other people seem to get when I say I don’t want kids. I mean, do you honestly care that much about my reproductive desires? But that’s a whole other post entirely. The people who seem sad to hear I don’t want kids inevitably say something like:

“Oh, but you’d be such a great mom!”

Really? How do you know that, exactly? But more importantly, just because I could be good at something doesn’t mean I should do it. I bet I’d make a good rodeo clown, too, but I’m not gonna.

I heard all the time in high school that I’d make a great teacher, but I didn’t do that, either. The first job I ever had was in a pediatrician’s office, and my boss thought I would be a good doctor. But alas, there is no M.D. at the end of my name.

Yet no one seems to be mourning the fact that I didn’t pick one of many other career paths that I seem to have a decent skill set for (or could have learned to do fairly well). Hm. Go figure.

How do you respond to this type of comment?

 

4 responses »

  1. I am CF by choice, too.

    This is a cool page. Thanks for sharing!

  2. A.M.Supinger says:

    ^I wrote that comment only a year ago. Golly, how things have changed for me! I would NEVER have believed it back then.

Leave a Reply

