The past few weeks I’ve been on adorable overload, ooohing and ahhhing over pics of babies from friends, family, and even a stranger or two (that’s not as creepy as it sounds, promise). I can hardly describe the giddy glee that overtakes me when I see babies doing cute things, or just sitting there and simply oozing cuteness. It’s as simple as this: I LOVE TEH BEBEHZ!!!

I imagine some people may find it difficult to reconcile this sentiment with my childfree choice. Some people also seem to think that making the choice to remain CF means you must not like kids or, worse, that you must hate kids. This is simply untrue. Sure, there are some people out there who do hate kids – I know a few of them – but saying CF people all hate children is like saying everyone who studies Psychology in college loves bologna sandwiches. The choice is in no way related to the preference in either case. Besides, I bet we’ve all met (or know of) someone who really seems to dislike kids and yet as a few of their own. Am I right? Uh huh, that’s what I thought.

As for me, I love babies. I love to hold them and snuggle them and make silly high-pitched talk at them. I also like to hand them back to mommy and daddy after a while. Luckily for me, in this day and age, that’s my prerogative.

There are lots of other myths/stereotypes about being CF, and I’ll address more of those in the future, as well as touching on some of the real reasons a person may choose to be CF.

So tell me, what are your preconceived ideas about the choice to be childfree?

Leave a Reply

